<
<

“A contemplative guide to Cologne”

As an introduction to the workshop, the graffiti artist Javier Abarca shared experiences of his own search for new places for his art, which made him an expert in urban exploration. He drew parallels between the practices of action artists of the Situationists, the graffiti scene and the relatively new scenes such as geo-cachers and urban explorers and their relationship to urban space.

The common feature is the wanderings and appropriation of (urban) space to find the places that are off the busy streets and residential areas. There are abandoned buildings and fallow areas in the immediate vicinity of urban infrastructures or the enclosed spaces, without which the life and the constant flow of people and goods would be unthinkable. These unattractive places do not entice consumers with promises of consumption and new stimuli, and therefore remain terra incognita on the imaginary city maps, which merge with each of our paths – like a puzzle of memories – piece by piece into a cityscape.

“In order to be as aware as possible of your own chosen path to the destination,” said Abarca, “there would be no common starting point for the tours”. The description of the first place to find was received by the participants as a message on their mobile phone. Individually they began their way, to meet of with the other participants at the end.

The first tour led to Ehrenfeld, specifically to the former freight yard. A controversial location of the Cologne urban development policy, whose extensive grounds until recently still provided room for various creative and charitable projects. At the end of the first day, the participants were rewarded with a fantastic view over the city skyline.

The destination of the second day was a supposed no-man’s-land, isolated from the rest of the city by the railroad tracks that surround it. In a thicket of plants, barely visible trails led to an abandoned, small settlement of impromptu dormitories, including a near-complete living room setting, testifying that such self-reliant and remote locations are the last loopholes and real open spaces in an otherwise fully developed world of concrete and glass.


Get lost exploring…

<

artrmx e.V.  | CityLeaks Urban Art Festival

Hospeltstraße 69
50825 Köln, GER
+49 (0)221 29 49 69 59
info@cityleaks-festival.com

© 2016 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED, artrmx e.V.

<
<

The fourth edition of the CityLeaks Urban Art Festival has come to an end, but that does not mean that there is no urban art left to discover in Cologne.

From now on you will find the current dates of our guided city tours for spring and summer 2018 on our website.

Of course, individual tours in German and English by prior appointment are possible. From a group of 10 or more people, we will be happy to arrange an individual discovery tour through Cologne for you. Detailed information and contacts can be found here.

We will keep you up to date and look forward to seeing you!

<
<

CityLeaks Akademy 2017

CityLeaks Urban Art Festival’s fourth edition stands under the guiding topic of “Sharing Cities”. In the wake of a rapid global urbanization the uneven distribution of resources as well as the exploitation and pollution of the environment have grown into pressing problems. Commercialization and social fragmentation still determine life in the vast majority of our cities. A call for sustainable concepts of urban development as well as a society that is based on commons (common goods) is heard everywhere and the practice of sharing resources, goods, knowledge, experience etc. has been perceived as a necessity by many.

As part of CityLeaks Academy, artists, scholars and citizens jointly set out to explore the possibilities and potentials of a lively, sustainable and creative city. A critical engagement with consumption, space and digital culture is at the centre of the Academy’s debates. Support comes from a number of artists, scholars and experts that will discuss the challenges of a “Sharing City” with the audience. They will elaborate on processes of urban change and how citizens may participate in them; they conduct research on solidary economy, consumption, needs, acceleration and digital culture; and they invite us to discuss these topics in greater detail as part of several workshops. The topics and results of the Academy will be documented in a special process space on Ebertplatz. Moreover, all lectures may be followed via live stream on our webpage. CityLeaks Academy is located right in the middle of Cologne’s urban life. In 2017 it takes place in the Festival Centre on Ebertplatz. A great number of workshops, lectures, panel discussions and guided tours will be offered here.

More information on the Academy’s participants and programme is to follow here!

<
<

Journal "Sharing Cities"

In our journal you will find all sorts of background stories, interviews and impressions from the festival. In the course of the festival the journal will grow steadily and inform you.

<
<

CITYLEAKS URBAN ART FESTIVAL

The festival’s info point on Ebertplatz is open daily from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

From 1st to 24th September 2017 the fourth edition of the international CityLeaks Urban Art Festvial takes place. Under the guiding idea of „Sharing Cities“ the festival intervenes in the public space of Cologne’s northern city centre in 2017. Above all, the various meanings and forms of sharing within an urban society are focused in the festival’s activities. Fusing the city and art as a motor for thinking about utopias, about new ideas and concepts for urbanity are of central importance to CityLeaks.

The festival is under the patronage of Gabriele Hammelrath (SPD, Member of Landtag NRW)

 

Since 2011 CityLeaks Festival has been a biennial forum for contemporary urban art and culture. The public city space is our place of action and art our medium. We are supported by a great number of local agents and initiatives, but most of all by the artists themselves. They give fresh impetus to reclaiming public spaces in Cologne: House facades are turned into large-scale paintings, performances mingle with the city’s routine activities, light installations and video mappings turn architecture into radiant artworks at night and conceptual art projects intervene in well-ordered urban systems. A total of more than 100 international artists have come to Cologne at the festival’s invitation. Genres like performance, urban hacking, installation, mural painting or new media witness contemporary urban art’s impressive range. CityLeaks reclaims neglected places, plays at extraordinary architecture and aims a participatory art experience. Exhibitions, guided tours, panel discussions, workshops and music extend and complement the festival’s large programme. Collaboration and exchange with local, regional and (inter)national networks from culture, politics, academia and economy just as much as a lively dialogue with citizens, neighbourhood initiatives and the broad public distinguish the festival’s special character.

CITYLEAKS FESTIVAL CENTRE – A SPACE FOR EVERYONE

This September CityLeaks Festival Centre will find its temporary home in a location which could hardly be more symbolic of Cologne’s failed enthusiasm for major urban projects: the Ebertplatz in the northern part of Cologne’s city centre.

In a joint process with interested citizens, Berlin artist and architect collective ON/OFF will construct an organic and adaptable Festival Centre which will turn the square into an arena by way of wooden stands. Visitors are thus given the opportunity to sit down, dwell, work, exchange and make use of a temporary stage. CityLeaks Festival Centre on Ebertplatz is meant as a space for collective thinking, acting and dwelling. From 1st to 24th September 2017 it functions as an open space for artistic, social, sustainable and subversive interventions and also allows visitors to partake in the academic discourse just as much as in the lived practice of urban commoning. Because what is it that makes a city worth living in? How much do I want contribute? How much me is the city? – these are some of the questions that the invited artists and participants of CityLeaks Academy will discuss and work on with local citizens and visitors from abroad.

 

<

CITYLEAKS FESTIVAL CENTRE – A SPACE FOR EVERYONE

This September CityLeaks Festival Centre will find its temporary home in a location which could hardly be more symbolic of Cologne’s failed enthusiasm for major urban projects: the Ebertplatz in the northern part of Cologne’s city centre.

In a joint process with interested citizens, Berlin artist and architect collective ON/OFF will construct an organic and adaptable Festival Centre which will turn the square into an arena by way of wooden stands. Visitors are thus given the opportunity to sit down, dwell, work, exchange and make use of a temporary stage. CityLeaks Festival Centre on Ebertplatz is meant as a space for collective thinking, acting and dwelling. From 1st to 24th September 2017 it functions as an open space for artistic, social, sustainable and subversive interventions and also allows visitors to partake in the academic discourse just as much as in the lived practice of urban commoning. Because what is it that makes a city worth living in? How much do I want contribute? How much me is the city? – these are some of the questions that the invited artists and participants of CityLeaks Academy will discuss and work on with local citizens and visitors from abroad.

 

All
All

<
<

“A contemplative guide to Cologne”

Als Einstieg in den Workshop erzählte der Graffitikünstler Javier Abarca von seiner eigenen Suche nach immer neuen Orten für seine Kunst, die ihn zu einem Experten für Stadtforschung machte. Dabei zog er Parallelen zwischen den Praktiken der Aktionskünstler der Situationisten, der Graffiti-Szene und den verhältnismäßig neuen Szenen wie den Geo-Cachern und den Urban Explorern und ihrer Beziehung zum Stadtraum.

Die Gemeinsamkeit besteht in den Streifzügen und der Aneignung von (urbanem) Raum, um die Orte aufzuspüren, die abseits der belebten Straßen und Wohngebiete liegen. Es sind verlassen Gebäude und Brachen in unmittelbarer Umgebung städtischer Infrastrukturen oder die davon umschlossenen Zwischenräume, ohne die das Leben und der ständige Fluss an Menschen und Waren undenkbar wären. Diese unattraktiven Orte locken nicht mit Konsumversprechen und neuen Reizen und bleiben deshalb terra incognita auf den imaginären Stadtplänen, die sich mit jedem unserer Wege – wie ein Puzzle aus Erinnerungen – in den Köpfen Stück für Stück zu einem Stadtbild zusammenfügen.

„Um möglichst bewusst, den eigenen eingeschlagenen Weg zum Ziel zu erleben“, erklärte Abarca, “gäbe es keinen gemeinsamen Startpunkt für die Touren”. Die Beschreibung des ersten zu findenden Ortes erhielten die Teilnehmenden als Nachricht auf ihr Handy und begannen dezentral ihren Weg, um am Ende auf die anderen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer zu treffen.

Die erste Tour führte nach Ehrenfeld, auf den ehemaligen Güterbahnhof, einem brisanten Ort der Kölner Stadtentwicklungspolitik, dessen weitläufiges Gelände das bis vor kurzem noch Raum für verschiedene kreative und gemeinnützige Projekte bot. Am Ende des ersten Tages wurden die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer mit einem phantastischen Blick über die Stadt belohnt.

Das Ziel des zweiten Tages war ein vermeintliches Niemandsland, isoliert vom Rest der Stadt durch die Bahntrassen, von denen es umringt wird. In einem Dickicht aus Pflanzen führten kaum sichtbare Trampelpfade zu einer verlassenen, kleinen Ansiedlung aus improvisierten Schlafstätten inklusive einer nahezu vollständigen Wohnzimmereinrichtung, die davon zeugt, dass solche, sich selbst überlassenen und fernab jeglicher Überwachung und Kontrolle liegenden Orte, die letzten Schlupflöcher und wirklichen Freiräume in einer ansonsten vollkommen erschlossenen Welt aus Beton und Glas bilden.


Get lost exploring…

<

artrmx e.V.  | CityLeaks Urban Art Festival

Hospeltstraße 69
50825 Köln, GER
+49 (0)221 29 49 69 59
info@cityleaks-festival.com

© 2016 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED, artrmx e.V.

<
<

Die vierte Ausgabe des CityLeaks Urban Art Festivals ist zu Ende gegangen, aber das heißt nicht, dass es in Köln nicht weiter Urban Art zu entdecken gibt.

Ab sofort findet ihr hier die aktuellen Termine unserer Stadtführungen für das Frühjahr und den Sommer 2018.

Natürlich sind auch Sonderführungen in Deutsch und Englisch nach vorheriger Anmeldung möglich. Gerne gestalten wir mit euch ab einer Teilnehmerzahl von 10 Personen eine Entdeckungstour durch Köln. Detaillierte Informationen sowie Kontakte findet ihr hier.

Wir halten Euch weiter auf dem Laufenden und freuen uns auf Euch!

 

<
<

CityLeaks Akademie 2017

Unter dem Titel „Sharing Cities“ eröffnet die vierte Ausgabe des CityLeaks Urban Art Festivals. Die globale und explosionsartige Urbanisierung führt zunehmend zu einer Ausbeutung und ungerechten Verteilung von Ressourcen und Verschmutzung der Umwelt. Kommerzialisierung und soziale Fragmentation bestimmen bis heute einen großen Teil unserer Städte. Der Ruf nach einer nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung und einer Gesellschaft, die auf Commons (Gemeingütern) aufbaut, ist groß, und das Teilen von Ressourcen, Gütern, Wissen, Erfahrungen, etc. wird immer notwendiger.

Gemeinsam erforschen KünstlerInnen, Laien, und ExpertInnen in der transdisziplinären CityLeaks Akademie die Möglichkeiten einer lebendigen, nachhaltigen, und kreativen Stadt. Die -auch- kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Konsum, Raum und Digitalität steht im Fokus der Akademie. Unterstützt werden wir von KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und ExpertInnen, die sich zusammen mit dem Publikum den Herausforderungen einer “Sharing City” stellen. Sie erörtern mit uns Fragen zu urbanen Transformationen und wie BürgerInnen daran teilhaben könnten, forschen zu solidarischer Ökonomie, Konsum, Bedürfnissen, Beschleunigung und Digitalität. Und sie laden uns ein, in unterschiedlichen Workshops ein wenig tiefer einzutauchen und mitzumachen. Die Inhalte der Akademie werden im Prozessraum auf dem Ebertplatz dokumentiert. Zudem können alle Vorträge per Livestream auf unserer Website mitverfolgt werden.

Die CityLeaks Akademie ist mitten im Stadtgeschehen verortet. Für 2017 ist ihr Ort das Festival Center auf dem Ebertplatz. Hier findet ein großes Angebot an Workshops, Podien, Vorträgen und Stadtspaziergängen uvm. statt.

Hier geht es weiter mit Informationen zu den TeilnehmerInnen sowie zum Programm!

<
<

Journal "Sharing Cities"

In unserem Journal findet ihr allerlei Hintergrundgeschichten, Interviews und Eindrücke vom Festival. Im Laufe der Festivalzeit wird das Journal stetig wachsen und euch informieren.

<
<

CITYLEAKS URBAN ART FESTIVAL

Der Infopoint des Festivals auf dem Ebertplatz ist täglich von 10 bis 18 Uhr geöffnet.

Vom 01. bis 24. September 2017 findet die vierte Ausgabe des internationalen CityLeaks Urban Art Festival statt. 2017 interveniert das Festival unter dem Titel “Sharing Cities” in der Kölner Altstadt-Nord. Die Verbindung von Kunst und Stadt als Motor, Utopien, Ideen und Konzepte von Urbanität zu denken, ist ein zentraler Aspekt von CityLeaks.

Die Schirmherrin des Festivals ist Gabriele Hammelrath (SPD, MdL)

CityLeaks ist ein biennales Festival für zeitgenössische urbane Kunst und Kultur und das seit 2011. Der öffentliche Stadtraum ist unser Aktionsort und die Kunst das Medium. CityLeaks begibt sich im September auf eine dreiwöchige urbane Expedition. Unterstützt werden wir von vielen Akteuren, aber vor allem von den KünstlerInnen. Sie geben Impulse und erobern den öffentlichen Raum in Köln: Hausfassaden verwandeln sich in großformatige Gemälde, Performances durchmischen das alltägliche Stadtgeschehen, Lichtinstallationen und Videoprojektionen machen die Architektur zu Stars der Nacht und konzeptionelle Kunstprojekte dringen in urbane Systeme ein. Insgesamt besuchten bisher weit über 100 internationale KünstlerInnen auf Einladung von CityLeaks Köln. Genres wie Performance, Urban Hacking, Installation, Mural-Malerei oder Neue Medien zeigen ein große Bandbreite zeitgenössischer urbaner Kunst. CityLeaks erschließt vernachlässigte Orte, bespielt außergewöhnliche Architektur und strebt nach partizipativem Kunsterleben. Ausstellungen, Touren, Gesprächsrunden, Workshops und Musik erweitern das Programm. Die Zusammenarbeit und der Austausch mit lokalen, regionalen und (inter) -nationalen Netzwerken aus Kultur, Politik, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, der Dialog mit BürgerInnen, Nachbarschaften und Publikum sowie die Förderung von Teilhabe an kreativen Diskursen zum Thema Stadt zeichnen den Charakter des Festivals aus.

CITYLEAKS FESTIVAL CENTER - EIN PLATZ FÜR ALLE

Als Sitz des Festival Centers wird CityLeaks im September einen Ort bespielen, der für das städtische Gemeinwesen sowie den Kölner Enthusiasmus für städtebauliche Großprojekte symbolträchtiger kaum sein könnte: Der Ebertplatz in der nördlichen Kölner Innenstadt.

Das Berliner Künstler- und Architektenkollektiv ON/OFF baut im gemeinschaftlichen Prozess mit allen Interessierten ein organisches und wandlungsfähiges Festival Center zu gestalten, das den Platz durch Tribünen in eine Arena verwandelt. Den BesucherInnen bietet es Möglichkeiten zum Verweilen, Arbeiten und Austausch sowie eine temporäre Bühne an. Im Festival Center am Ebertplatz entsteht ein Ort zum gemeinsamen Denken, Handeln und Verweilen. Das Festival Center bietet vom 1. bis zum 24. September 2017 Freiräume für künstlerische, soziale, nachhaltige und subversive Interventionen und gewährt Einblick in den wissenschaftlichen Diskurs zum Themenbereich Urban Commons. Denn was macht eine Stadt lebenswert? Wie viel möchte ich mitgestalten? Wie viel Ich ist Stadt? – das sind Fragestellung, zu denen die eingeladene KünstlerInnen und TeilnehmerInnen der CityLeaks Akademie gemeinsam mit BürgerInnen gebeten werden, Stellung zu beziehen.

<

CITYLEAKS FESTIVAL CENTER - EIN PLATZ FÜR ALLE

Als Sitz des Festival Centers wird CityLeaks im September einen Ort bespielen, der für das städtische Gemeinwesen sowie den Kölner Enthusiasmus für städtebauliche Großprojekte symbolträchtiger kaum sein könnte: Der Ebertplatz in der nördlichen Kölner Innenstadt.

Das Berliner Künstler- und Architektenkollektiv ON/OFF baut im gemeinschaftlichen Prozess mit allen Interessierten ein organisches und wandlungsfähiges Festival Center zu gestalten, das den Platz durch Tribünen in eine Arena verwandelt. Den BesucherInnen bietet es Möglichkeiten zum Verweilen, Arbeiten und Austausch sowie eine temporäre Bühne an. Im Festival Center am Ebertplatz entsteht ein Ort zum gemeinsamen Denken, Handeln und Verweilen. Das Festival Center bietet vom 1. bis zum 24. September 2017 Freiräume für künstlerische, soziale, nachhaltige und subversive Interventionen und gewährt Einblick in den wissenschaftlichen Diskurs zum Themenbereich Urban Commons. Denn was macht eine Stadt lebenswert? Wie viel möchte ich mitgestalten? Wie viel Ich ist Stadt? – das sind Fragestellung, zu denen die eingeladene KünstlerInnen und TeilnehmerInnen der CityLeaks Akademie gemeinsam mit BürgerInnen gebeten werden, Stellung zu beziehen.

Alle
Alle